Research Guides

Total Page：16

File Type：pdf, Size：1020Kb

Research Guides CITING RESOURCES ADULT REFERENCE – 1ST FLOOR MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers - R 808.02 Gib The classic guide to citations, formatting, and much more. Kept at Reference Desk. Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - R 808.02 Pub APA’s style book. Kept at Reference Desk. The New York Times Manual of Style and Usage - R 808.02 Sie Lay or lie? None is or none are? Who or whom? Let the New York Times decide. ADULT NONFICTION – 3RD FLOOR The AMA Style Guide for Business Writing – 651.75 AMA Style guide for business writing. Chicago Manual of Style - 808.02 Chi A mainstay for writers, editors, proof readers, indexers, and copywriters. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers - 808.02 Gib The classic guide to citations, formatting, and much more. Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - 808.02 Pub APA’s style book. Grammar Without Grief - 808.02 Ste Forget grammar lessons and rigid rules; grammar made easy. The Elements of Style - 808.02 Str Strunk and White’s timeless guide to simple, direct writing. FINDING BOOKS AND OTHER LIBRARY MATERIALS Dewey Decimal browsing numbers: 808.02 In addition to reference books, you may want to search for other books and materials (videos, audiobooks, etc.) on your topic. You can access the Library catalog from the Library or from home by going to www.wppl.org. Good subject searches are report writing, and report writing – handbooks, manuals, etc. WEB SITES LibrarySpot’s Grammar and Style Guides LibrarySpot’s organized links to grammar and style guides. www.libraryspot.com/grammarstyle.htm P.org “Our mission is to support the education community with a comprehensive set of resources to help students write with integrity.” Includes plagiarism fact sheets. https://www.plagiarism.org/article/citation-styles Purdue OWL The Online Writing Lab (OWL) from Purdue University. This resource covers all major citation styles. http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/ VCU’s Citation Styles and Guides Guides and links to numerous styles, as well as links to guidelines for avoiding plagiarism. http://guides.library.vcu.edu/citation-styles Why Are There Different Citation Styles? All styles require the same basic information but the order varies, partly because different academic fields emphasize different elements of a sources. Find out more from Yale’s Center for Teaching and Learning. https://bit.ly/2I3xoSk For additional information, please see an Adult Services Librarian. 10/18 .

Copy Link

Recommended publications

The Elements of Style and Other Grammatical Oddities
The Elements of Style and other grammatical oddities Vigorous writing is concise • “A sentence should contain no unnecessary words, a paragraph no unnecessary sentences, for the same reason that a drawing should have no unnecessary lines and a machine no unnecessary parts. This requires that the writer make all of his sentences short, or that he avoid all detail and treat his subjects only in outline, but that every word tell.” --The Elements of Style by William Strunk, Jr. [1918] Elementary Rules of Usage • Form the possessive singular of nouns by adding ’s •EX: Charles’s friend Burns’s poems The witch’s malice. • The possessive pronouns hers, its, theirs, yours, and ours have no apostrophe. Indefinite pronouns, however, use the apostrophe to show possession. •EX: one’s rights Somebody else’s umbrella To form the possessive for regular plural nouns that end in s or es, add only the apostrophe •EX: The Graves’ book collection consists mainly of works by Harlan Corben and Patricia Cromwell. The Lopezes’ three children are identical triplets. • A common error is to write it’s for its, or vice versa. The first is a contraction, meaning “it is.” The second is a possessive. •EX: - It’s (contraction) a wise dog that scratches its (possessive) own fleas. To indicate individual ownership of two or more items, add ’s to each of the items. EX: - Tupac’s and Notorious B.I.G.’s lyrical styles have some similarities. To indicate joint ownerships, add ’s only to the last item. EX: Britney Spears and her first husband’s marriage lasted all of fourteen hours.
[Show full text]
{PDF} the Elements of Style: Everything You Need to Know To
THE ELEMENTS OF STYLE: EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW TO WRITE 1ST EDITION PDF, EPUB, EBOOK William Strunk Jr | 9781557427281 | | | | | The Elements of Style: Everything You Need to Know to Write 1st edition PDF Book Need another sample paper to peek at? Since then, the number of private. These were written either with an intention to make a moral or just for the entertainment of the audience. Elise Barbeau is the Citation Specialist at Chegg. Even before Pullum's review I gave an interview to Time Out New York in which I noted that the most striking thing about The Elements of Style is that nobody seems to pay attention to the introduction in which White himself undermines much of the book's credibility, or at least takes great pains to point out that the book is not the inerrant grammar ruling of God that so many people seem to think it is. Such a mode is used when the narrator wants the reader to feel as if he is himself the character in the story. APA style is most used within the social sciences. We also use third-party cookies that help us analyze and understand how you use this website. You just need to include: The running head The page number The title of your essay Your name The Institutional Affiliation your college, for example If you think it would take you too long to learn the APA style format, you have another option: get assistance online. Two hundred twenty five children were found in the warehouse, some malnourished and diseased.
[Show full text]
Maira Kalman's Irreverent Pictures for the Grammar Bible
JULIE SAUL GALLERY ART & DESIGN | ART REVIEW Maira Kalman’s Irreverent Pictures for the Grammar Bible By ROBERTA SMITH | AUG. 17, 2017 Maira Kalman’s illustration in “The Elements of Style” illuminates a section on restrictive clauses: “People who live in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones.” Credit Julie Saul Gallery, Ne w York Around 2002, the artist, illustrator and writer Maira Kalman came across a copy of William Strunk Jr. and E. B. White’s “The Elements of Style” in a yard sale and decided that this legendary if sometimes contested guide to grammar and clear writing needed visual accompaniment. So she provided some, making 57 illustrations inspired by sentences and phrases selected from the book. All these images Ms. Kalman rendered in gouache in a delectably colored figurative style indebted to David Hockney and Florine Stettheimer. They were then sprinkled throughout a 2005 version of “Elements” based on its fourth edition, covered in exuberant red. Now all Ms. Kalman’s illustrations can be seen — together for the first time in New York — in a smart, beguiling array at the Julie Saul Gallery in Chelsea. 535 West 22ND Street New York NY – 10011 T: 212 - 627 - 2410 F: 212 - 627 - 2411 saulgallery.com Known to generations of American high school and college students as “the little book” or simply Strunk and White, “Elements” was originally written and, in 1919, self-published by Strunk, a professor of English at Cornell University, for in-house use. In 1959, the Macmillan company published a new edition revised and expanded by White, a former Strunk student and by then a prominent writer for The New Yorker, and he followed it with new editions in 1972 and 1979.
[Show full text]
Style and Citation Guide Revised March 2014
Style and Citation Guide Revised March 2014 This International Law Studies Style and Citation Guide sets forth the style guidelines for publications edited and published by the International Law Department (ILD), Center for Naval Warfare Studies, United States Naval War College. In general, all citations in articles as published will comport with The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation (19th ed.) (Harvard Bluebook). These guidelines are draw from and complemented by The Economist Style Guide (9th ed.), The Elements of Style (4th ed.) by Strunk and White and the Chicago Manual of Style (15th ed.). ILS is privileged to receive for publication numerous articles from international scholars. Recognizing that the Harvard Bluebook is not readily available and is used only for U.S. legal publications, this style guide is intended as an aid to international authors in particular. As an additional resource, a comprehensive Citation List, comprised of commonly cited works in Harvard Bluebook format will be provided separately. ILD editors will assist in the process of ensuring that articles conform to Harvard Bluebook requirements. International authors are not expected to become Harvard Bluebook experts, but to the extent the following style and citation formats are used, it eases and expedites the editing process. Stylistic Format GRAMMAR AND SPELLING U.S. English grammar and spelling will be used for published articles. Spelling of titles, e.g., Ministry of Defence, will not be changed. ABBREVIATIONS Abbreviate with caution. Unless an abbreviation or acronym is so familiar that it is used more often than the full form (e.g., BBC, CIA, FBI, EU, IMF, NATO, WTO), write the words in full on the first appearance.
[Show full text]
Style Manual for 2019-2020 Energy Law Journal in the Text
STYLE MANUAL FOR 2019-2020 ENERGY LAW JOURNAL IN THE TEXT ❑ The word “section” is not capitalized when used with an act – i.e., section 101 of the AEA, not Section 101 of the AEA. ❑ Make sure the first time (and only the first time) an abbreviation is used (i.e., FERC), the full name is spelled out and the abbreviation is in parenthesis without quotes – i.e., Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC). ❑ Make sure the abbreviation is descriptive. If a committee report refers to seven different Public Utilities Commissions, abbreviating each as PUC is not effective. If you see this, suggest changes in a comment box, such as: Penn PUC or California PUC, etc …. ❑ Where an agency acronym has one or more vowels and can be pronounced as a word (e.g., DOE, DOT, FERC, OSHA) and the acronym is used as a noun, the author has complete discretion whether to precede reference to the agency with the article "the." For example, the author may say either that “the FERC held . .” or simply that “FERC held . .” ❑ Mid-sentence footnotes are permitted. Footnotes should follow punctuation. ❑ Every sentence that has quotations in it should have a footnote at the end. If you see quotes without footnotes, attempt to find the source and insert the correct footnote. ❑ When you see quoted material (or non-quoted material that is cited), read the sentences before and after to make sure that the author has not “almost” quoted other nearby materials. If you find that the author is indeed quoting a source but has not put quotation marks around it, treat the sentence as you would a quote i.e.
[Show full text]
THE ELEMENTS of STYLE' (4Th Edition) First Published in 1935, Copyright © Oliver Strunk Last Revision: © William Strunk Jr
2 OLIVER STRUNK: 'THE ELEMENTS OF STYLE' (4th edition) First published in 1935, Copyright © Oliver Strunk Last Revision: © William Strunk Jr. and Edward A. Tenney, 2000 Earlier editions: © Macmillan Publishing Co., Inc., 1959, 1972 Copyright © 2000, 1979, ALLYN & BACON, 'A Pearson Education Company' Introduction - © E. B. White, 1979 & 'The New Yorker Magazine', 1957 Foreword by Roger Angell, Afterward by Charles Osgood, Glossary prepared by Robert DiYanni ISBN 0-205-30902-X (paperback), ISBN 0-205-31342-6 (casebound). ________ Machine-readable version and checking: O. Dag E-mail: [email protected] URL: http://orwell.ru/library/others/style/ Last modified on April, 2003. 3 The Elements of Style Oliver Strunk Contents FOREWORD ix INTRODUCTION xiii I. ELEMENTARY RULES OF USAGE 1 1. Form the possessive singular of nouns by adding 's. 1 2. In a series of three or more terms with a single conjunction, use a comma after each term except the last. 2 3. Enclose parenthetic expressions between commas. 2 4. Place a comma before a conjunction introducing an independent clause. 5 5. Do not join independent clauses with a comma. 5 6. Do not break sentences in two. 7 7. Use a colon after an independent clause to introduce a list of particulars, an appositive, an amplification, or an illustrative quotation. 7 8. Use a dash to set off an abrupt break or interruption and to announce a long appositive or summary. 9 9. The number of the subject determines the number of the verb. 9 10. Use the proper case of pronoun. 11 11. A participial phrase at the beginning of a sentence must refer to the grammatical subject.
[Show full text]
Wyoming Law Review
WYOMING LAW REVIEW Style Guidelines* Please ensure your drafts conform to the specifications found in the following style guidelines.1 Some of these rules may conflict with rules you learned using different citation or style manuals. In many cases, the Bluebook specifies rules for legal writing and citation. Where the Bluebook does not specify, the editorial board has made a decision on acceptable format and style for the Wyoming Law Review. Please adhere to the Bluebook and these guidelines, even if you know a different rule. These guidelines are not comprehensive and do not address everything you will need to know when writing your case note or comment, nor are these guidelines meant to replace the Bluebook. Rather, the guidelines are intended to serve as a starting point to familiarize you with the Bluebook and Wyoming Law Review style. Most importantly, if you have formatting or writing questions not addressed by these guidelines, please contact an editor. It is possible the editorial board has not made a decision regarding an issue where the Bluebook is either silent or unclear. Please understand the editorial board will make every effort to offer consistent formatting guidelines, but the board is not immune from mistakes or miscommunication. If you get conflicting advice from editors or on different drafts, please let the editorial board know—it may be an issue where the guidelines need to be clarified. Thank you in advance for your time and attention to these formatting and citation requirements. The cleaner your draft is with respect to these rules, the easier it will be for the editors to focus on the substantive strengths and weaknesses of your writing.
[Show full text]
Style Manuals APA/MLA/Chicago
Carlyn Pinkins and Meg Edwards Graduate Resource Center Style guides are formalized standards for writing documents Generally are set by specific fields, organizations, or publications Create consistency in adhering to writing and design rules Provide formatting styles for citations and bibliographies Receive periodic review to ensure they address contemporary trends Determining the style guide one uses oftentimes depends on the document Some disciplines require adherence to a distinct style Example: History – Chicago Style Some publications require submission in a specific style Example: Comparative Politics – Chicago Style Comparative Political Studies – APA Style Some organizations may create their own style guidelines for internal and external documents Style manuals are your best resources. They contain suggestions and rules for: Manuscript Structure and Writing Suggestions Organization Recommendations Clear and Concise Writing Reducing Bias Preventing Plagiarism Mechanics of Writing Punctuation, Spelling, Abbreviations, and Numbers Results Table and Data Display Rules Citation Guidelines Reference Rules Reference Examples And additional style-specific information APA stands for the American Psychological Association. This style’s latest manual is the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Online resource: http://www.apastyle.org/ APA is generally used by the social and behavioral sciences. Created by the United States National Research Council. Two basic citation characteristics: In text citation (Author, Year, pp. ##-##) Page number for direct quotes or specific references “References” of all cited documents in alphabetical order at end of manuscript In-text citations are required for other scholar’s ideas and research, as well as quotes. As Hochstetler (2006) identifies the importance of street protests in presidential failure, I attempt to examine this relationship.
[Show full text]
The Elements of Style - Wikipedia, the Free Encyclopedia 頁 1/ 4
The Elements of Style - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia 頁 1/ 4 The Elements of Style From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia The Elements of Style (1918), also known as The Elements of Style Strunk & White, by William Strunk, Jr. and E. B. White, is a prescriptive American English writing style guide comprising eight "elementary rules of usage", ten "elementary principles of composition", "a few matters of form", a list of forty-nine "words and expressions commonly misused", and a list of fifty-seven "words often misspelled". In 2011, Time magazine listed the writing style -guide as one of the 100 best and most influential books written in English since 1923.[1] Contents ■ 1 History ■ 2 Content ■ 3 Criticism Cover of 4th ed. (paperback, 2000) ■ 4 Editions Author(s) William Strunk, Jr., and E.B. White ■ 5 Parodies ■ 6 See also Country USA ■ 7 References Language English ■ 8 External links Subject(s) Style guide History Publisher Pearson Education Company Publication date 1919, 1959 Cornell University professor of English Media type Paperback book William Strunk, Jr., wrote The Elements of Style in 1918, and privately published it in Pages 105 1919, for in-house use at the university. Later, ISBN 020530902X for publication, he and editor Edward A. Tenney revised it as The Elements and OCLC Number 45802070 Practice of Composition (1935). Twenty-two (http://worldcat.org/oclc/45802070) years later, in 1957, at The New Yorker magazine, the style guide reached the attention Dewey Decimal 808/.042 21 of E. B. White, who had studied writing under LC Classification PE1408 .S772 1999 Strunk in 1919, but had since forgotten "the little book" that he described as a "forty-three- Style Guides page summation of the case for cleanliness, accuracy, and brevity in the use of English." Weeks later, White wrote a feature story about ACS Style Guide Professor Strunk's devotion to lucid English prose.
[Show full text]
William Strunk, Jr. the Elements of Style
William Strunk, Jr. The Elements of Style NEW YORK 1918 Contents PREFACE III I INTRODUCTORY 1 II ELEMENTARY RULES OF USAGE 3 1. Form the possessive singular of nouns with 's . 3 2. In a series of three or more terms with a single conjunction, use a comma after each term except the last . 4 3. Enclose parenthetic expressions between commas . 4 4. Place a comma before and or but introducing an independent clause . 6 5. Do not join independent clauses by a comma . 7 6. Do not break sentences in two . 8 7. A participial phrase at the beginning of a sentence must refer to the grammatical subject . 9 8. Divide words at line-ends, in accordance with their formation and pronunciation . 10 III ELEMENTARY PRINCIPLES OF COMPOSITION 13 9. Make the paragraph the unit of composition: one paragraph to each topic . 13 10. As a rule, begin each paragraph with a topic sentence; end it in conformity with the beginning . 15 11. Use the active voice . 18 12. Put statements in positive form . 20 13. Omit needless words . 21 14. Avoid a succession of loose sentences . 23 15. Express co-ordinate ideas in similar form . 24 16. Keep related words together . 25 17. In summaries, keep to one tense . 27 18. Place the emphatic words of a sentence at the end . 28 IV A FEW MATTERS OF FORM 31 V WORDS AND EXPRESSIONS COMMONLY MISUSED 35 VI WORDS OFTEN MISSPELLED 45 i ii CONTENTS PREFACE Asserting that one must ﬁrst know the rules to break them, this classic reference is a must-have for any student and conscientious writer.
[Show full text]
Guide to the Delaware Rules of Legal Citation in the Superior Court Of
GUIDE TO THE DELAWARE RULES OF LEGAL CITATION in the Superior Court of Delaware Second Edition This revised guide to the Delaware rules governing legal citation and style is intended to provide uniformity, clarity, and consistency in the Superior Court’s decisions, and to make life easier for each arriving generation of law clerks. The Guide is based on the Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation (Columbia Law Review Ass’n et al. eds. 17th ed. 2000), the Chicago Manual of Style (15th ed. 2003), internal Superior Court rules, and established Delaware practice. It also updates the Superior Court Guide to the Delaware Rules of Legal Citation adopted in July 1997. Although it is intended to highlight the Bluebook, and not substitute for it, we hope this guide provides a convenient, Delaware-specific resource for the Superior Court’s judicial officers, law clerks, interns, externs, and staff. In some ways, it is misleading to refer to the “rules” governing citations, as their structure constantly fluctuates. Citations evolve through a fluid and dynamic process, constantly reacting to substantive changes in the organization of the state and federal judiciary, as well as the stylistic preferences of its officers and academic commentators. Accordingly, this guide is by definition a continuous work in progress. Suggestions, comments, and criticisms are therefore always valued. Resident Judge Richard R. Cooch Andrew A. Lundgren, Superior Court Law Clerk Robert J. Deary, Superior Court Law Clerk Adopted by the Superior Court of Delaware September 2004 1 TABLE OF CONTENTS PART ONE: CASES I. SUPERIOR COURT CIVIL RULE 107(c)(4) A.
[Show full text]
PUNCTUATION–HYPHEN, EN & EM DASH, SLASH, BRACKETS and BRACES in Any Writing You Do, You Need to Keep the Reader in Mind. T
PUNCTUATION–HYPHEN, EN & EM DASH, SLASH, BRACKETS AND BRACES In any writing you do, you need to keep the reader in mind. To make your message easy to understand, use the hyphen, en and em dash, the slash, brackets and braces to help perfect and emphasise what you mean. Name & Symbol…. What it does …… 1. Hyphen [ - ] The hyphen is a shorter mark than the dash; there is no space either before or after the hyphen [e.g.blue-green] The hyphen is the The hyphen joins words (and parts of words) together; it makes one word of two (or more). Essentially, the hyphen is replacing the word and only symbol on the o Use a hyphen where you are creating a combined meaning [e.g. computer keyboard. user-friendly; well-known; short-lived; fishing-dependent; modern-day] The hyphen can be o Use a hyphen to fix a prefix [e.g. non; co; micro; anti; hyper] to found on the same a whole word [eg. economic] to make a complex word [e.g. key as the micro-economic] underscore (_) and to o A hyphen is used with some double surnames [e.g. the right of the zero Warrington-Smith] key o A hyphen is used with some place names (states; territories; regions; cities; train stations and airports) [e.g. Bosnia- Herzegovina; Bà Rja-Vũng Tàu Province; Vittoria-Gasteeiz; Tokyo-Narita International Airport, etc.] Use a hyphen to avoid the confusion of a sequence of the same letters [eg. deemphasize de-emphasise]. However, most of the time people feel quite comfortable with two ‘es’ and two ‘os’ [e.g.
[Show full text]