Printz Award Authors: Printz Award Authors: Young Adult Literature Award: A - L M - Z Printz Award

Jan Greenberg Abrams Carolyn Mackler Geraldine McCaughrean Laurie Halse Anderson Mary McCoy Every year several newly published, M. T. Anderson young adult books are recognized for Elana Arnold their excellence by being honored with Paola Bacigalupi Marilyn Nelson John Barnes Louise O’Neill the Printz Award. The Michael L. Printz Julie Berry Kenneth Oppel Award is named for a Topeka, Kansas Elizabeth Partridge Beverley Brenna Ashley Hope Perez school librarian who was a long-time Deb Caletti Carol Plum-Ucci active member of the Young Adult Library Lucy Christopher Terry Pratchett Services Association (YALSA). One book Judith Clarke Adam Rapp Susann Cokal Louise Rennison is awarded the winner’s gold medal each Carolyn Coman year, and several others are given honor Peter Dickinson Jennifer Donnelly Rainbow Rowell status with silver medals. Both fiction Nancy Farmer Jessie Ann Foley Gary D. Schmidt and nonfiction books are eligible for the Garret Freymann-Weyr Printz Award. Helen Frost Neal Shusterman Jack Gantos Craig Silvey Sally Gardner Andrew Smith K. L. Going Maggie Stiefvater Visit the Printz Award website for more Allan Stratton information and book lists: Daniel Handler Mariko & Jillian Tamaki Laini Taylor Deborah Heiligman Janne Teller Stephanie Hemphill Angie Thomas Christine Hinwood Terry Trueman Jenny Hubbard Clare Vanderpool A. M. Jenkins Elizabeth Wein A.S. King Ellen Wittlinger Elizabeth Knox Virginia Euwer Wolf Nina LaCour Rick Yancey Nick Lake Printz Award Website Margo Lanagan Nicola Yoon Markus Zusak E. Lockhart Chris Lynch

Winners and Honor Books 2000 – 2019

Winner 2019 Winner 2018

2019 2014 - Winner: Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick; Honor 2007 - Winner: by Gene Luen Yang; Books: Kingdom of Little Wounds by Susann Cokal; Maggot Honor Books: The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Winner: Moon by Sally Gardner; Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell; Traitor to the Nation; v. 1: The Pox Party by M.T. Anderson; by Elizabeth Acevedo Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool An Abundance of Katherines by John Green; by Honor Books: Sonya Hartnett; The Book Thief by Markus Zusak 2013 - Winner: In Darkness by Nick Lake; Honor Books: Damsel by Elana Arnold 2006 - Winner: by John Green; Honor Books: The White Bicycle by Beverley Brenna; Dodger by Terry Heart in a Body in the World by Deb Caletti Black Juice by Margo Lanagan; I Am the Messenger by Markus Pratchett; Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Zusak; John Lennon: All I Want Is the Truth, a Photographic I, Claudia by Mary McCoy Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz; Code Name Verity by Biography by Elizabeth Partridge; A Wreath for Emmett Till by Elizabeth Wein Marilyn Nelson 2018 Winner: 2012 - Winner: Where Things Come Back by John Corey 2005 - Winner: by Meg Rosoff; Honor Books: We Are Okay by Nina LaCour Whaley; Honor Books: Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler Airborn by Kenneth Oppel; Chanda’s Secrets by Allan Stratton; Honor Books: The Returning by Christine Hinwood Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy by Gary D. Schmidt Vincent and Theo: the Van Gogh Brothers by Deborah Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey Heiligman Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater 2004 - Winner: by Angela Johnson; Honor Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds Books: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor 2011 - Winner: Ship Breaker by Paola Bacigalupi; Honor Books: A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly; Keesha’s House by Helen Hate U Give by Angie Thomas Stolen by Lucy Christopher; Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A. S. Frost; Fat Kid Rules the World by K.L. Going; The Earth, My King; Revolver by Marcus Sedgwick; Nothing by Janne Teller Butt, and Other Big Round Things by Carolyn Mackler 2017 2003 - Winner: Postcards from No Man’s Land, by Aidan Winner: 2010 - Winner: by Libba Bray; Honor Books: Chambers; Charles and Emma: The Darwin’s Leap of Faith , Book Three by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, Nate Powell Honor Books: The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer; My Honor Books: by Deborah Heiligman; Tales of the Madman Underground by Heartbeat by Garret Freymann-Weyr; Hole in My Life by Jack Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry John Barnes; Punkzilla by Adam Rapp; Monstrumologist by Gantos Asking for It by Louise O’Neill Rick Yancey Scythe by Neal Shusterman 2002 - Winner: by An Na; Honor Books: The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon 2009 - Winner: Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta; Honor The Ropemaker by Peter Dickinson; Heart to Heart: New Poems Books: Inspired by Twentieth-Century American Art by Jan Greenberg 2016 The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Abrams; Freewill by Chris Lynch; True Believer by Virginia Euwer Winner: Traitor to the Nation, Vol. 2: The Kingdom on the Waves Wolff Bone Gap by Laura Ruby by M. T. Anderson; The Disreputable History of Frankie Honor Books: Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart; Nation by Terry Pratchett; 2001 - Winner: Kit’s Wilderness by David Almond; Honor Books: Out of Darkness by Ashley Hope Perez Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan Many Stones by Carolyn Coman; The Body of Christopher Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick Creed by Carol Plum-Ucci; Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal 2008 - Winner: The White Darkness by Geraldine Snogging: Confessions of Georgia Nicolson by Louise 2015 McCaughrean Rennison; Stuck in Neutral by Terry Trueman

Winner: Honor Books: Dreamquake: Book Two of the Dreamhunter 2000 - Winner: by Walter Dean Myers; Honor Books: Duet I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson by David Almond; Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson; Hard by Elizabeth Knox; One Whole and Perfect Day by Judith Honor Books: Love by Ellen Wittlinger And We Stay by Jenny Hubbard; The Carnival at Bray by Clarke; Jessie Ann Foley; Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith; This Repossessed by A. M. Jenkins; Your Own, Sylvia: A Verse One Summer by Mariko & Jillian Tamaki Portrait of Sylvia Plath by Stephanie Hemphill