Annual Report 2016-2017

Annual Report 2016-2017

ANNUAL REPORT

YEARTWO OFTHE COLLEGE CREDIT PLUS PROGRAM

2016-2017

2

INTRODUCTION

OhioRevisedCode3365.15(A)requirestheChancellor of the Ohio Department of Higher Education and the Superintendent of Public Instruction of the Ohio Department of Education to collect a variety of data for College Credit Plus and to annually compile the data by December 31.

The first report was compiled and submitted December 31, 2016 and is available at www.

ohiohighered.org/ccp.This report is a compilation of

the required data for the 2016-2017 academic year, the second year of College Credit Plus. Information within this report also includes some comparisons with the 2015-2016 academic year, as appropriate. These data were submitted to the Ohio Department of Higher Education and Ohio Department of Education and are current as of November 2017.This report is divided into two sections: Participation and Performance.

3

PARTICIPATION

Figure 1

Total College Credit Plus Enrollment

OVERALL ENROLLMENT

College Credit Plus was enacted under House Bill 487 by Ohio’s 130th General Assembly, effective September 2014 with full implementation in the fall term of 2015. Since then, as shown in Figure 1, overall enrollment for 2016-2017 grew from 54,053 enrollments in the first year to 68,365. Year two included summer term, during which the enrollment represented 10% of the total.

2015-2016 2016-2017

INSTITUTIONTYPE

Public institutions of higher education are required to participate in College Credit Plus, whereas private institutions can choose to participate. For year two, the overall number of private colleges and universities increased by three (32 in 2015-2016), Figure 2.

Figure 2

Total Participating Institutions, 2016-2017

COMMUNITY COLLEGES

PRIVATE UNIVERSITIES UNIVERSITY REGIONAL UNIVERSITY MAIN
& COLLEGES CAMPUSES CAMPUSES

4

DELIVERY METHOD

Colleges and universities can offer courses through four primary delivery methods: at the high school location with a college-employed faculty member providing the instruction; at the high school with an approved, credentialed high school instructor; on the college campus; or online. Figure 3 provides the number of course sections offered by delivery method by year. In all four methods, the number of course sections increased. Figure 4 shows the percentage of all college courses by delivery methods by year. Though the percentage of courses delivered at the high school decreased slightly from year one to year two, this is accounted for with the increase in percentage of courses offered at the college campus and online.

Figure 3

Number of Course Sections by Delivery Method

61,420
49,685
41,223

24,278
18,439
16,252

9,824
8,145

HIGH SCHOOL POST-SECONDARY INSTRUCTOR
HIGH SCHOOL SECONDARY INSTRUCTOR
ON COLLEGE CAMPUS
ONLINE

  • 2015-2016 Number of Course Sections
  • 2016-2017 Number of Course Sections

Figure 4

Percent of All CCP Courses by Delivery Method

49.4%
42.1%

34.1%
29.1%

  • 11.8%
  • 12.6%

11.1%
9.8%

HIGH SCHOOL POST-SECONDARY INSTRUCTOR
HIGH SCHOOL SECONDARY INSTRUCTOR
ON COLLEGE CAMPUS
ONLINE

  • 2015-2016 % of All CCP Courses
  • 2016-2017 % of All CCP Courses

5

STUDENT PARTICIPATION BY GRADE LEVEL

Growth in each grade level occurred in year two; however, the overall participation remained primarily in the eleventh and twelfth grades, which comprised 70% of all participants. Figure 5 provides a comparison of year two (on the left) with year one (on the right).

Figure 5

College Credit Plus Participants, by Grade

70% of

participating students are in

grades 11 & 12

30,298
23,888
19,326
15,375

6,673
4,963
2,689

364

8th Grade

120

7th Grade

219
67

1,870

  • 12th Grade
  • 11th Grade
  • 10th Grade
  • 9th Grade

  • 2015-2016
  • 2016-2017

Figure 6

STUDENT PARTICIPATION

CCP Students by Gender

BY GENDER

Female students continue to participate more often than males, representing 56% of the total participants. As noted in Figure 6, there was a slight increase of females in year two compared to year one.

45%
55%

2015-2016

44%
56%

2016-2017

6

STUDENT PARTICIPATION BY RACE/ETHNICITY

Figure 7 provides a look at College Credit Plus participant races compared to the Ohio high school student population races for 2016-2017.This allows a glimpse into the races of students in Ohio and whether the students are proportionately represented in the program. In comparison to year one, 2015-2016 (not included in this figure), slight enrollment increases were counted for students with self-reported races of African American (2015-2016, 6.3%), Asian (1.7%), and Multiple Races (1.8%), and decreases with students of Caucasian/White (71.6%) and Hispanic (2.6%) races. Note that “unknown” indicates that either the institution did not report the students’ races or the students did not self-disclose their races.

Figure 7

College Credit Plus Participants, by Race, Compared to Overall Student Population Grades 7-12

70.4%
69.4%

  • 16.4%
  • 16.7%

5.5%
5.0%

2.7%

2.3%

  • 2.1%
  • 2.2%

6.8%

0.3%

0.1%

0.1% 0.1%

0.0%

AFRICAN AMERICAN
AMERICAN INDIAN, NATIVE AMERICAN
ASIAN, PACIFIC ISLANDER

  • CAUCASIAN,WHITE
  • HISPANIC
  • MULTIPLE RACES
  • NATIVE HAWAIIAN
  • UNKNOWN

  • CCP 2016-2017
  • High School Population 2016-2017

7

STUDENTS BY ECONOMIC STATUS

Students who are considered economically disadvantaged are defined in Ohio Revised Code as those who qualify for Free or Reduced Lunch or for another government-sponsored system. Figure 8 provides a comparison of participants in years one and two of the program, and their economic status. In the second year of the program, fewer students were “unknown” as the data matches continue to improve within the reporting systems.

Figure 8

Percentage of CCP Students by Economic Status

52.7%
45.8%
39.9%

28.4%
19.0%
14.3%

  • 2015-2016
  • 2016-2017

  • Unknown
  • Not Economically Disadvantaged
  • Economically Disadvantaged

STUDENTS BY DISABILITY STATUS

The percentage of students with a disability has remained similar for both years of the program, whereas students with no disabilities did increase to 70.5% for year two as shown in Figure 9.The “unknown” category is decreasing in year two due to improvements in data matching.

Figure 9

Percentage of CCP Students by Disability Status

70.5%
53.3%
45.5%

27.9%

1.3%

DISABILITY

1.7%

  • UNKNOWN
  • NO DISABILITY

  • 2015-2016
  • 2016-2017

8

COURSE ENROLLMENTS

The number of college courses that students take remains similar from year one to year two. Nearly 60% of students are taking one or two college courses. Overall, 80% are enrolled in four or fewer courses over the course of the academic year (summer through spring) as shown in Figure 10.The average number of courses completed per participant for 2016-2017 was 2.58 courses.

Figure 10

Course Enrollments

80% taking 4 or fewer courses

31%
30%
28%
27%

12%

  • 11%
  • 11%

10% 10%
10%

6%

  • 5%
  • 5% 5%

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7

OR MORE

  • 2015-2016
  • 2016-2017

LEVEL OF INSTRUCTION

The enrollment of students in college courses based on level of instruction is illustrated in Figure 11. This indicates that, for students enrolled at public institutions, 67% of the students are in general studies courses, and the remainder in baccalaureate and technical level courses.The small percentage of developmental education courses continues to be a concern, and follow-up research will be done, as these are not allowable courses for College Credit Plus.

Figure 11

CCP Course Section Counts by Level of Instruction, Public Institutions Only

67%
66%

20%
19%
14%
13%

1%

1%

  • BACCALAUREATE
  • GENERAL STUDIES
  • TECHNICAL
  • DEVELOPMENTAL

  • 2015-2016
  • 2016-2017

9

COMPLETIONS BY INSTITUTION

Table 1 provides the list of colleges by institution type in which participants were enrolled in 2016-2017, along with the number of completed courses and earned credits.

(InstitutionTypes: CC=Community College, IN=Independent/Private College, UB=University Branch/Regional Campus, UM=University Main Campus)

Institution Name

  • Institution Name
  • Courses

807

Credits Earned

2,508

Belmont College

CC CC CC CC CC CC CC CC CC CC CC CC CC CC CC CC CC CC CC CC

Central OhioTechnical College Cincinnati StateTechnical & Community College Clark State Community College Columbus State Community College Cuyahoga Community College Eastern Gateway Community College Edison State Community College Hocking College

5,479 2,483 5,822 11,746 12,084
3,041 5,950 2,078 5,288 6,927
10,620
3,417 4,596 2,480 4,027 1,288 9,235 5,106
10,249
17,874 9,574
18,509 34,034 35,985
9,635
18,601
7,342

James A. Rhodes State College Lakeland Community College Lorain County Community College MarionTechnical College

15,949 21,770 28,884 10,304 14,700
7,740

North Central State College Northwest State Community College Owens State Community College Rio Grande Community College Sinclair Community College Southern State Community College Stark State College

12,151
3,788
28,210 16,841 30,035

10

Institution Name

  • Institution Name
  • Courses

2,983 3,087 4,067
524

Credits Earned

8,781 8,476
12,749
1,584
373

Terra State Community College Washington State Community College Zane State College

CC CC CC IN IN IN IN IN IN IN

Ashland University Aultman College of Nursing and Health Sciences Bluffton University

141

  • 77
  • 270

Case Western Reserve University Cedarville University

  • 42
  • 132

  • 632
  • 1,917

2,749
417

Chatfield College

989

Cincinnati Christian University

139 not

Columbus College of Art and Design

  • IN
  • not reported

reported

Defiance College Franklin University Heidelberg University Hiram College

IN IN IN IN IN IN
14 23
43 74
164 243 241
1,450
473 885 686
5,519

John Carroll University Kenyon College

not

Lake Erie College

  • IN
  • not reported

reported

Lourdes University

IN IN IN IN

  • 14
  • 42

599

Malone University

208 101 614

Marietta College

305

Mount Vernon Nazarene University

1,814 not

Muskingum University

IN IN not reported
1,483 reported

Notre Dame College of Ohio

508

11

Institution Name

  • Institution Name
  • Courses

1,368
551

Credits Earned

4,120 1,863
753

Ohio Christian University

IN IN

Ohio Dominican University Ohio Northern University

  • IN
  • 300

Otterbein University

  • IN
  • 217
  • 729

Tiffin University

  • IN
  • 580
  • 1,696

1,016
974

University of Findlay

  • IN
  • 371

University of Mount Union

  • IN
  • 247

University of Northwestern Ohio Urbana University

  • IN
  • 113
  • 420

  • IN
  • 2,011

138
6,428
412

Walsh University

IN

Wittenberg University

  • IN
  • 168
  • 661

Bowling Green State University - Firelands Campus Kent State University - Ashtabula Campus Kent State University - East Liverpool Campus Kent State University - Geauga Campus Kent State University - Salem Campus Kent State University - Stark Campus Kent State University -Trumbull Campus Kent State University -Tuscarawas Campus Miami University - Hamilton Campus Miami University - Middletown Campus Ohio State University - AgriculturalTechnical Institute Ohio State University - Lima Campus Ohio State University - Mansfield Campus

UB UB UB UB UB UB UB UB UB UB UB UB UB
2,928
493
8,897 1,488

  • 745
  • 253

1,064
668
3,263 2,045 5,932 1,297 4,701 2,759 3,692
199
1,902
430
1,564
899
1,231
67

  • 232
  • 751

  • 270
  • 894

12

Institution Name

  • Institution Name
  • Courses

316

Credits Earned

1,017
773

Ohio State University - Marion Campus Ohio State University - Newark Campus Ohio University - Chillicothe Campus Ohio University - Eastern Campus Ohio University - Lancaster Campus Ohio University - Southern Campus Ohio University - Zanesville Campus University of Akron - Wayne Campus University of Cincinnati - Blue Ash College University of Cincinnati - Clermont Campus Wright State University - Lake Campus Bowling Green State University Central State University

UB

  • UB
  • 242

  • UB
  • 602
  • 1,877

1,855 3,034 2,372 1,784
10,985
2,178 8,626 2,627 6,711

  • UB
  • 594

  • UB
  • 979

  • UB
  • 743

  • UB
  • 572

  • UB
  • 3,591

  • 746
  • UB

  • UB
  • 2,849

  • 812
  • UB

UM UM UM UM UM UM UM UM UM UM UM UM UM
2,194

  • 54
  • 153

Cleveland State University Kent State University

1,017 1,713
127
3,042 5,021
409

Miami University Ohio State University

  • 951
  • 3,177

1,843 3,459
12,947
2,698 6,707 6,991 11,907

551,727

Ohio University

586

Shawnee State University University of Akron

1,134 4,226
990

University of Cincinnati University ofToledo

2,221 2,255 4,140

180,703

Wright State University Youngstown State University

Total

13

COURSES BY SUBJECT AREA

View Full Text

Details

  • File Type
    pdf
  • Upload Time
    -
  • Content Languages
    English
  • Upload User
    Anonymous/Not logged-in
  • File Pages
    24 Page
  • File Size
    -

Download

Channel Download Status
Express Download Enable

Copyright

We respect the copyrights and intellectual property rights of all users. All uploaded documents are either original works of the uploader or authorized works of the rightful owners.

  • Not to be reproduced or distributed without explicit permission.
  • Not used for commercial purposes outside of approved use cases.
  • Not used to infringe on the rights of the original creators.
  • If you believe any content infringes your copyright, please contact us immediately.

Support

For help with questions, suggestions, or problems, please contact us