District Safety Excellence and Zero Injury Award Program


The National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA) formally recognizes electrical contractors that adopt safety and health practices as a core value within their organizations. Having the results that demonstrate this commitment is instrumental. NECA’s Safety Excellence and Zero Injury Award Program is an elite safety recognition program focused on the electrical construction industry, recognizing companies that excel in multiple areas of their safety and health.

About the Program:

NECA Safety Excellence /Zero Injury Award Programs recognize companies that thrive on maintaining OSHA recordable rates at levels lower than industry. Both programs seek to recognize companies that have taken safety above and beyond compliance.

Application Process:

1. All application should be filled online and completed by March 1, 2011. Application link: http://www.esafetyline.net/NECAAward/Default.aspx

2. Applications received by the March 1, 2011, deadline will be consider as program participants.

3. Finalist applications will then be sent to district for review.

4. Safety Excellence and Zero Injury Awards will be presented at District Meeting.

5. Only one application is required for both awards.

Data Evaluated:

There are four parts to the award selection criteria:

Part I Incident Rates

a. Recordable Cases

b. Lost Workday

c. Non-Fatal Cases Without Lost Workdays

d. Fatalities

Part II Experience Modification Rate (EMR)

Part III OSHA Citations

Part IV Operations and Best Practices

Note: Frequency and severity rating are important, but the rates will not be the sole source for determining winners.

Award Categories: Man-hours

·  0 to 50,000 man-hours

·  50,001 to 100,00 man-hours

·  100,001 to 150,000 man-hours

·  over 150,001 man-hours

Schedule & Deadlines:

March 1, 2011 applicants must be received online only by March 1st.

March 15, 2011 applications will be evaluated and selection of finalists

April 1, 2011 District will notify the finalists.

June 1, 2011 Awards will be distributed.

If you have any questions, feel free to contact Jerry E. Rivera at 301-215-4546 or or your NECA Safety representative. .


3 Bethesda Metro Center, Suite 1100, Bethesda, MD 20814

(301) 215-4546 tel; (301) 215-4500 fax; www.necanet.org